Riley (5/13/05 – 6/19/10)

Riley died peacefully this morning after eight days in the ICU at the Loomis Basin Equine Medical Center.

Riley’s strong will and indomitable spirit amazed everyone as she went through a battery of tests, scans, and medications, and then through several surgeries to drain the infection in her hind leg. But it became clear that the antibiotics were not working and her pain became progressively worse; she stopped passing manure and her other hind leg began to fail as it bore all of her weight.

We then discovered that the infection was so aggressive that it had invaded the coffin joint. In her condition, this was not treatable. We all talked it over and decided that the best thing for Riley was to put her to sleep.

We are so grateful to the staff at Loomis. They did everything they could to keep Riley comfortable during her stay and in her passing, as well as allowing us to be with her during odd hours.

We will always love Riley. She was a horse that comes along once in a lifetime.

Riley Memorial Fundraiser

We will be having a memorial fundraiser at the ranch on June 26 to help cover Riley’s medical bills. Erin will be teaching lessons and giving consultations on student-requested topics such as trailer loading, equine first aid, ground skills, and riding. All proceeds will go directly to medical costs.

Email Erin (equinepartnersinc@gmail.com) with your desired time slot and let her know what you would like to cover in the lesson.

Time Slots

9am to 11am
11am to 1pm
1pm to 3pm

(If you can’t make it on Saturday but want to make a donation to the Riley Memorial Fund, you can send a check made out to Erin Murphy at Equine Partners, Inc., 11009 Spenceville Rd, Penn Valley, 95946.)

We know these are tough times for everyone and appreciate any and all contributions.

Again, thank you for all of your love and support,

Erin & Kim

9 Comments Add yours

  1. karen dodd says:

    Oh no! My heart goes out to you both. I am so very sorry. You both have been on my mind since I ran into you on Friday.
    ~K

    Like

    1. Erin Murphy says:

      Karen,
      It’s been such a roller coaster ride this past week; and this weekend has been very difficult – lots of tears as we are in complete disbelief. We are relieved to know that things went well for your girl. Thanks for your support.
      Kim & Erin

      Like

  2. Rona says:

    I am so sorry. There are no words that I can say that would make a difference. Just know you both are in my thoughts and prayers. Love, Rona

    Like

    1. Erin Murphy says:

      Thanks Rona for your friendship and support. Our hearts are broken.
      Love,
      Kim (and Erin)

      Like

  3. Patty Cambra says:

    Hi Kim, Erin,
    I can feel your sorrow and am so sorry Riley had to move on, seemingly way too soon. My heart is with you, sending healing love to your beautiful, broken hearts. May Riley remain in your hearts forever.
    Love, Patty

    Like

  4. Danielle and Tony says:

    Hi Erin, Kim,

    We are so sorry to hear about Riley. She was a gentle, beautiful giant and she will be missed dearly. Our hearts go out to you. We know how difficult it is to lose a loved horse.
    Danielle and Tony

    Like

  5. Ariel says:

    Oh Kim,
    I am so sorry; Riley looked like a beautiful friend. I am aching for you and know how hard that is. My thoughts are with you~ Love,
    Ariel

    Like

  6. marsha edwards says:

    My dear Erin and Kimmy~
    This is the most horrible news! I weep with you! I am so sorry. Tears are rolling.
    I know that I owe you money and I am very sorry that I have not been able to repay you yet. But I want you to know that working with you on your ranch was the most enlightening and healing experience of my life thus far. It made me a better person, a better Christian, and I will always be very grateful to you, thank you!
    I regret that it ended the way it did, but sometimes that’s how life goes and combinations of events create unwanted results, as was my case. If I had to do it all over again it would be so different.
    I keep abreast of your ranch activities regularly and it gives me such pleasure watching your clips and reading about it. I am so proud of you Erin and of knowing you and having the pleasure of learning from you.
    Very sincerely~
    Marsh
    I want to start sending you some money until my debt is paid off. And since I can’t be there for the fund raiser, I want to support Riley. Can I electronically send money with my credit or debit card?

    Like

  7. Stacy and Adrian says:

    Dear Kim: When I called Erin the other day, Erin told me about Riley. Adrian and I are so sorry. We feel your loss, she was beautiful. We lost Adrian’s wedding horse due to complications from strangles 5 years ago. He was in ICU at Loomis Basin also. Adrian adored him, his first animal ever and we cried for 4 days straight.

    We will always remember Riley playing fetch with the freezbie at the clinic in Grass Valley.

    Love, Stacy and Adrian

    Like

Comments

